Travel

Traveling Arizona is absolutely breathtaking! -Especially if its in the heat…

I highly recommend a couple stops as you drive through Northern Arizona:

  1. Antelope Canyon

    IMG_1510
    Playing with the exposure & high noon sun

I drove to the small city of Page, Arizona. There are a few restaurants,a grocery store and possibly a hotel, but I recommend bringing snacks….I always recommend bringing snacks no matter the occasion. Just before the town there is a stoplight, you take that to the right (if coming from Phoenix) and follow that road until you see signs.

There are two sections to Antelope Canyon; an upper canyon and a lower canyon. The Upper canyon is great for the elderly and those with mobile disabilities that are unable to climb steep stairs. I fell in love with the Lower Canyon! The upper is on the right side of the road and the lower is on the left. You have to pay around $40-$50 per person but you get a tour guide (Native American land) and they tell you amazing stories of the rock formations, and they help you get just the right lighting for pictures. (all the pictures below are from my iPhone).

There are extremely steep stairs that will make a man out of you. I definitely had to hold back vomit jitters when we walked up to the first set of stairs that was literally a metal ladder with rails straight off the side of a cliff. The first flight was about 5 stories down, the next set of stairs are a lot shorter, and some even go back up (the one pictured was a short one towards the end going up). I recommend going at about noon when the sun is at its highest point in the sky, it will shine through and give gorgeous color to the rock.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2. Horseshoe Bend

Horseshoe Bend is about 20 minutes from Antelope Canyon, and has the Colorado River winding right around it, a truly beautiful sight. If you get lost follow the bus loads of tourists-that worked for us. You will literally be able to walk right up to the edge of the cliff to get the best shot. I don’t recommend bringing small kids because it can be pretty dangerous, there are no ropes or railings on certain sections to keep anyone from falling. Have fun and get out there! As you can see, I climbed to the edge and maneuvered myself around the busloads of foreigners to capture my favorite picture:

IMG_2297

Horseshoe Bend April, 2015. *All images on this page are my personal photographs.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Great post! I’ve just been writing about Antelope Canyon too and came across your post 😀 That place literally blew my mind. I can’t wait to go back.

    Like

Leave a Reply

